How about a good fantasy?

image: wikipedia

I guess most of you have heard about the series of epic fantasy novels “A Song of Ice and Fire” by George R.R. Martin, or at least about the first volume called “A Game of Thrones”. I heard about the book, after I had already watched the first season of the TV adaptation, titled ” A Game of Thrones”. It was decided, I have to read the books!!!
The plot of the book revolves around the fight for the ” Iron Throne” between the most powerful houses in “The Seven Kingdoms”. The story takes place in medieval times on a fictional land where the seasons last for years and the most horrifying mystical creatures from the legends are supposedly all gone for good…
I believe that these novels are going to stand out as a new type of fantasy and I love it. It is a fantasy story, yet not so childish and unrealistic, but hopeful and full of honour and medieval values, with characters so distinguishable and profound, with such a vibrant personality that you really cannot stay indifferent. The fantasy is offered in a very elegant way, no silly fairies and unicorns all over the purple forest, but just a slight exquisite touch of fantasy and magic. The story is very good, the characters are complete to the bits, nothing is missing, a full picture of one other world, so real you could almost touch it. I am reading  the story and I am feeling thirsty for more, and as I am reading it is carrying me away… far, far away to The Seven Kingdoms, I am reading, and reading and then  I am getting worried that it will be over soon…
Have you ever felt that way about a book? A symphony of mixed feelings. I’ve recetly started the 3rd volume, so I will keep sharing my impressions of the series.

Leave a Reply

